Carrot Halwa

I am presenting very authentic and famous indian dessert – Carrot halwa (gajar halwa) with a twist. And the twist is – it does not have sugar in it. Yes! you read it correctly. It has only 1 tbsp of ghee and no sugar. Ofcourse I learned this recipe from my friend Miti in her cooking class. (Click here for more details about her classes)
I wanted to make this carrot halwa but I wanted to grate carrots in vitamix blender. (I purchased vitamix blender and it is the best of all blenders I have used so far! 😉 )
Oh yes, so I tried this recipe in early morning today as a breakfast and turned out really well 😉
The authentic traditional recipe calls for carrots, ghee and sugar. I am sure everyone has made and is making this halwa but I really recommend to give it a try to this recipe! I used dates(in place of sugar) and milk-mawa powder(in place of mawa- you can find this in any indian grocery store. if not use grated mawa) because we don’t get good quality of mawa here in USA. And one more thing, In USA we get orange carrots and the color of my halwa is red(like our mom makes)- for that I used 4 carrots and 1 inch of beetroot 😉
So, let’s check recipe now 😉

Gajar Halwo (3)

Preparation time: 10 minutes
Cooking time: 15 minutes

Category: Dessert
Serves: 2 person

Gajar Halwo (2)

Ingredients

Carrots – 4 (washed, peeled and grated)
Beetroot – 1 inch (washed, peeled and grated)
Dates (khajoor) – 9 (pitted, washed)
Milk – 1 cup
Milk mawa powder (mawa) – 1/2 cup
Ghee – 1 tbsp
Sugar – 1 tbsp (optional)
Cardamom powder – 1 tsp
Cashews and dried grapes – 1/4 cup

Method

Soak dates in warm milk for at least 15 minutes and then crush it and make puree. In a pan, hear 1 tbsp ghee, add grated carrots and beet roots and cook till tender.
Add date-milk puree and 1/2 cup milk-mawa powder to carrots.

Cover and cook till milk evaporates, stir occasionally. Add sugar if you feel like. (I haven’t added still tastes really good.)
Cook for 5 minutes and then add cardamom powder and nuts and serve 🙂
Gajar Halwo (4)

 

One thought on “Carrot Halwa

  1. દીપાબહેન,
    તમારા બ્લોગનું સરનામું ‘બેઠક’ પરથી મળ્યું અને ખોલતાં જ ‘હલવો’ મળ્યો ! મમ મમ થી કામ વાળા આ જણને ટપ ટપ તો ના ગમે પણ ચિત્ર જોઈ જ ઓડકાર આવી ગયો !

    Like

Leave a Reply

